The social welfare activity is performed by social welfare institutions, local and regional self-government units, associations, religious communities, other legal persons, small businesses and other natural persons engaged in social welfare activity. The Ministry of Demography, Family, Youth and Social Policy is responsible for the supervision of social welfare activities.

Social welfare matters are regulated by the Social Welfare Act (Official Gazette nos. 157/13, 152/14, 99/15, 52/16, 16/17, 130/17, 98/19 and 64/20).

Foreigners realise their rights in the social welfare system in accordance with their statuses recognised in the Republic of Croatia on the basis of certain documents defining such statuses.

Foreigners who are in an unfavourable situation with one of the following statuses are:

– Foreigners and stateless persons with permanent residence in the Republic of Croatia,

– Foreigners with an established status of victims of trafficking in human beings,

– Foreigners with subsidiary protection and asylum holders and members of their families legally residing in the Republic of Croatia.


These persons have the same rights in the social welfare system as nationals of the Republic of Croatia residing in Croatia.

All non-listed persons may be entitled to a one-time benefit and temporary accommodation under the conditions prescribed by the Social Welfare Act, provided this is necessary due to the person’s circumstances at the time.

The Central State Office for Reconstruction and Housing Care ensures accommodation to asylum seekers and foreigners under subsidiary protection, if they are unable to settle their housing costs by their own means, according to the Act on International and Temporary Protection (Official Gazette Nos. 70/15, 127/17). Housing costs are settled from the state budget. Accommodation is provided for a maximum period of 24 months from the date of the decision on the approval of international protection.


Social welfare rights are the following:

  1. Guaranteed minimum benefit,
  2. Housing allowance,
  3. Heating allowance,
  4. Personal allowance for accommodation beneficiary,
  5. One-time benefit,
  6. Education allowance,
  7. Personal disability allowance,
  8. Assistance and care allowance,
  9. The status of parent-caretaker and the status of caretaker,
  10. Jobseeker’s allowance,
  11. Fees for the energy product buyers at risk
  12. Social services:

– Initial social service (provision of information, recognition and initial assessment of needs)

– Counselling and assistance

– Home assistance

– Psychosocial support

– Early intervention

– Assistance with inclusion into programmes of upbringing and regular education (integration),

– Day care

– Accommodation

-Family mediation

– Organised housing.


Rights in the social welfare system are recognized by social welfare centres.

More info


Relevant links